Moderator Kathrine

Yanni Message Board  Hop To Forum Categories  About Yanni  Hop To Forums  Yanni in the Media    Yanni Article in the Fort Wayne News-Sentinal

Closed Topic Closed
Go
New
Find
Notify
Tools
Yanni Article in the Fort Wayne News-Sentinal Login/Join 
<YMusicMuse>
posted
Fort Wayne News-Sentinel
Yanni's passionate quest in music
The winner of the 1990 U.S. Double Platinum award will bring his New Age sound to Fort Wayne.

By Mari delaGarza

Yanni is bringing his New Age music -- along with the new age of his career -- to Memorial Coliseum.

The Greek, self-taught, electronic keyboard master is entering a new stage in his career. For the first time, Yanni has incorporated lyrics in his album "Ethnicity." He will bring his "2004 Ethnicity World Tour" to the coliseum at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday.

The album is a fusion of cultures, which includes Yanni's Greek roots.

"Many of the world's cultures and musical genres are represented on my 'Ethnicity' album," Yanni said in an e-mail. "It has a lot of ethnic color -- in other words, it has ethnicity. Ethnicity has to do with race and color, and -- in the way I use it for this album -- the color and beauty of a multicultural society. I believe music represents (humanity's) soul, culture by culture.

"When I go into the music, I blend a rainbow of styles and ethnicities, and witness the souls of many cultures come together obviously and easily. The result is more color, beauty and strength. A seamless mesh.

"Unity. If our souls can come together in the music, they can come together anywhere, and as a people, we can achieve harmony."

Musically, a man of few words, he did allow his life to be put into black and white.

"Yanni in Words" was released in 2002 and made it onto The New York Times
best-seller list.